![Five Guys explained why they have never had a vegetarian or vegan burger on their menu](https://images.ladbible.com/resize?type=webp&quality=1&width=3840&fit=contain&gravity=auto&url=https://images.ladbiblegroup.com/v3/assets/bltcd74acc1d0a99f3a/blt67279019154e2557/67b4d698c533ccdb4cdad10f/Five-Guys-Menu.jpeg)
Whether it’s a good thing or a bad thing, it’s fair to say we’re spoilt for choice when it comes to fast food in this country.
From pretty much always being able to locate a Maccies to even having a variety of places to grab chicken wings, we’ve all got our favourite spot.
And when it comes to burgers, Five Guys may be your King - bag full of fries and all. But, arguably heartbreakingly, plenty of people end up having to say goodbye to the joint when they go veggie or vegan.
Advert
Because while you can add whatever you fancy to the beef burgers, the chain has never had a vegetarian or vegan burger on its menu. And it's explained just why.
![They might be known for their burgers but it's meat only. (Eduardo Parra/Getty Images)](https://images.ladbible.com/resize?type=webp&quality=1&width=3840&fit=contain&gravity=auto&url=https://images.ladbiblegroup.com/v3/assets/bltcd74acc1d0a99f3a/blt0428f6d83f7c05d7/67b4d336a5a2031f14f3ec89/GettyImages-619449278.jpg)
Over on the UK site’s FAQs, it answered: “Why does Five Guys not have a vegan burger?” And it turns out it’s apparently all down to its ‘commitment to quality’.
“Five Guys is a family-run company that was born as a single burger joint in Virginia back in 1986. The commitment to quality means that we rarely develop new products – it took 28 years for Shakes to be added to the menu!” it explained.
Advert
So, the restaurant says it will only release something new if it’s felt that ‘it is literally the best’ that it can offer in that category.
“We’re currently exploring and trialling different options, however we are not quite there yet with a meat-free patty that represents Five Guys quality,” it added.
Yes, I know, I can hear you shouting at me that the chain does serve the Veggie Sandwich. Of course, we all know that.
However, that’s not suitable for vegans.
Advert
It consists of fresh and grilled vegetables on the signature bun, just with no patty. The Grilled Cheese Sandwich is also made by turning the burger bun inside out, toasting it with a light layer of mayo on the outside plus the melted cheese.
![Only the fries are vegan. (Marge Ely for The Washington Post via Getty Images)](https://images.ladbible.com/resize?type=webp&quality=1&width=3840&fit=contain&gravity=auto&url=https://images.ladbiblegroup.com/v3/assets/bltcd74acc1d0a99f3a/blt386ce6f9400d99c8/67b4d37ca88b8aaf20e494fd/fiveguys.jpg)
Those buns are toasted on a separate grill only used for bread and veggies, so they don’t come into contact with meat products.
But, the burger buns do include milk and eggs, so they might not be suitable for all vegetarians or vegans.
Advert
There is some saving grace though, if your vegan pal is joining you at Five Guys – the fries.
Famously, the fries are cooked in peanut oil, meaning both the Five Guys and Cajun styles are suitable for vegetarian and vegan diets.
And for now, it’ll just have to be that, as it doesn’t look like a vegan burger is coming anytime soon.
Topics: Five Guys, Food And Drink, Vegan, Vegetarian